PepsiCo and YABT’s “Eco-Challenge” For Entrepreneurs

 In 2009 PepsiCo and the Young Americas Business Trust (YABT) launched their Eco-Challenge campaign, a competition for young people from Latin America and the Caribbean. The Eco-Challenge seeks to create awareness about water conservation while promoting innovation and entrepreneurship.

Apply Now! The deadline for the Eco-Challenge is March 1, 2010!
>>Apply Now

The Eco-Challenge is part of the Talent and Innovation Competition of the Americas (TIC Americas) organized by YABT and the OAS since 2006. This is the first time the competition will include a category regarding water conservation.

The Eco-Challenge consists of two challenges and awards:

Eco-Challenge 1
Create a video game that educates about water conservation in an entertaining way. PepsiCo and YABT will develop the winning game, which will be available on the web for free. The winner will get $5,000 in cash and the opportunity for an internship at a video game company.

Eco-Challenge 2
Develop a solution for access to safe water, for example an innovative, cheap and efficient solution to filter clean drinking water in places without access to potable water. The winner of this category will receive US$5,000.

“PepsiCo’s commitment to sustainable development and environmental sustainability is at the heart of everything we do. This year, PepsiCo became one of the first global companies that publicly recognizes water as a human right within the framework of the United Nations and the World Health Organization and as a part of this commitment we launched the Eco-Challenge with YABT ” commented Luis Montoya, President of PepsiCo Latin America, during his speech on responsible entrepreneurship to 500 young participants at the launching event.

“YABT is thrilled to collaborate with PepsiCo and other global companies to create initiatives for young entrepreneurs to have the opportunity to challenge the problems concerning the environment,” said Roy Thomasson, CEO of YABT.

“As a partner of the YABT, I have seen firsthand the benefits TIC Americas offers to young entrepreneurs in the hemisphere. In supporting youth entrepreneurship through TIC Americas, a leading global company PepsiCo recognizes the success of the competition, and the invaluable commitment of supporting the entrepreneurial talent that exists in Latin America and the Caribbean,” commented Ambassador Albert Ramdin, Assistant Secretary General of the Organization of American States.

Apply Now! The deadline for the Eco-Challenge is March 1, 2010!
>>Apply Now

>>Learn More

For more information:
Yeruti Mendez – Director, Training and Technology
Young Americas Business Trust  (YABT)
E-mail: – Tel: +1 202 458 3512


About Young Americas Business Trust (YABT)
A non-profit corporation recognized by the U.S. Internal Revenue Service as a 501(c) (3) organization. It is affiliated with the General Secretariat of the Organization of American States (OAS), and aims to advance the goals of the OAS and Presidential Summits of the Americas to create employment opportunities and reduce poverty by supporting and promoting youth entrepreneurship. Currently, YABT also has National YABTs and representatives in twenty-five countries in the Americas. Being located at the General Secretariat of the OAS gives YABT a unique platform for private/public sector collaboration. The OAS provides substantial overhead and management support for YABT, which enables YABT to put more of its resources into fulfilling its mission instead of addressing administrative matters.

About Organization of American States (OAS)
Brings together the nations of the Western Hemisphere to strengthen cooperation on democratic values, defend common interests and debate the major issues facing the region and the world. The OAS is the region’s principal multilateral forum for strengthening democracy, promoting human rights, and confronting shared problems such as poverty, terrorism, illegal drugs and corruption. It plays a leading role in carrying out mandates established by the hemisphere’s leaders through the Summits of the Americas. With four official languages — English, Spanish, Portuguese and French — the OAS reflects the rich diversity of the hemisphere’s peoples and cultures. It is made up of 35 member states: the independent nations of North, Central and South America and the Caribbean. The government of Cuba, a member state, has been suspended from participation since 1962; thus only 34 countries participate actively. Nations from other parts of the world participate as permanent observers, which allows them to closely follow the issues that are critical to the Americas.

Source: Young Americas Business Trust (YABT)